carl marletti, take 2

the whole class went to the flour mill this morning. we were supposed to leave paris at 6.45, but we left at 7.they say that the french are usually 15 minutes late ( a surprising fact!!!).  i finally had a good look of paris in the morning. it was my first time looking at the the city under the bare sky since i usually take metros to go around(looks gloomy n lots of time accompanied by smells that awakens you from your sleepyness… ). we took 1h30 to get to the mill.it was a really nice place. but i don’t get  much infos there. partly because the representative spoke in french n partly because it was too cold and i got a brainfreeze…

flour-mill

we left in the afternoon. n on our way back to paris, i kept thinking about cakes, but could not decide which pastry shop to go to. still hadn’t made the decision as we reached paris n got down from the coach. i took the metro without knowing where i was going n i was still thinking where should i buy my cake. decisions, decisions, decisions…finally i decided to go back to carl marletti. my first visit to the shop gave me a really great impression, that’s why i decided to go back there again.

the shop really didn’t make me feel intimidated.it was a nice feeling.the man waiting behind the counter (the same guy as the one who served me when i first came, n i think he is the only one serves…no other staff?!) was still as friendly as ever. i intended to buy just one cake ,’lily valley’, but then i was tempted by the ‘marie-antoinette’. so last minute decision, i bought both.

left:lily valley, right: marie antoinette

left:lily valley, right: marie antoinette

i decided to have marie-antoinette for my after-dinner dessert since i was in the mood for macarons. i wanted to feel a bit more sophisticated, so i made myself a cup of lemon tea(one of the cheap brands teabags from supermarket).  my first bite of the cake…fireworks in the sky, me sleeping on petals of roses, sounds of raspberries bursting in mouth, classical music playing in my ears. formula for the macaron shell popping out in my head: crunchy outside + soft inside = parfait! as i sip my tea, i saw myself  living in the old european times where people were waltzing in the ballroom n orchestra playing.TOTAL EXAGGERATION THERE!

the cake is similar compared to Pierre Herme (PH)’s Ispahan. the difference is that it doesn’t have litchi flavour in it. ispahan is  a wonderful cake, but after trying marie antoinette, i now feel raspberry-rose combo is much better than framboise-litchi-rose.three is a crowd.

i begin to think that it is best to have tea to accompany your cake. according to my opinion, tea will not overpower the taste of the cake, unlike coffee or wine.instead, it will heighten the flavour. i think i am more of  a tea drinker.

my visits to carl marletti were really good ones. if the pastry kitchen is as friendly as the front-of-house(fingers crossed), i am definitely going to try my hardest to have my stage there >_<  

the tea-cake experience really made my day. i’m so HAPPY now!!!!!!can’t wait to try the ‘lily valley’. maybe i should buy different tea to accompany the cake…hmmm…

Leave a Reply

